Baby pumpkin pies from scratch

My CSA provided me with two pie pumpkins this November. I hadn’t possessed a pie pumpkin since college, when a friend and I bought one at the farmer’s market made the best vegan pumpkin pie ever. Since then, I’ve been too scared to attempt another because I couldn’t imagine getting my hands on such a naturally delicious pumpkin again. This year, however, with pie pumpkins a plenty, I decided to go for it.

I found recipe inspiration from Love and Lemons, and did some of my own innovating.

IMG_2015

The filling turned out amazing. Just spectacular. The crust wasn’t as great, though, so next time (yes–there will be a next time! I’m not afraid anymore!) I think I’ll do a different kind.

Vegan Pumpkin Pie Filling

Ingredients

1 small pie pumpkin, cut in half, seeds removed

1 can full fat coconut milk, well mixed (heat it up to smooth it out if it’s chunky).

3 Tbsp corn starch

2 tsp pumpkin pie spice blend

2-3 Tbsp maple syrup (how much you need will depend on how sweet your pumpkin is and how sweet you want to pie to be).

Method

Roast the pumpkin on a lightly oiled baking sheet in a 400 degree oven for 30-45 minutes, or until collapsing and super tender. (I used coconut oil).

While your pumpkin is cooling, heat 1 cup of the coconut milk and the corn starch in a small sauce pan, stirring constantly to create a smooth, whipped texture. (Use a whisk, if you have one). Once the corn starch lumps are gone, add the maple syrup and continue whipping. You want a slightly thickened texture.

Once your pumpkin has cooled, peel the skin off the pumpkin (this should be easy if you pumpkin has cooked long enough) and put the chunks of pumpkin in a food processor.

Add the coconut milk mixture to the food processor and process until the mixture is super creamy.

Add the pumpkin pie spices and process again, until everything is well incorporated.

Taste your product and make any necessary additions for sweetness, spice, etc.

Use immediately, or if you plan to save for later, make sure to heat the filling back up before scooping it into your pie crust–the coconut milk will congeal at cool temperatures.

 

 

Leave a Reply

