Back to the blog and a root veggie slaw

An unseemly amount of time has passed since I last posted here. In a few words, the reason for my long pause amounts to– being busy, not feeling inspired by food, feeling sick–with one pretty much bleeding into the next. I’m about to get really busy again, but I’ve worked through my culinary disenchantment and my health/hunger has returned. Two out of three is not bad.

Throughout my hiatus, I was cooking as much as usual–just not anything terribly exciting (barring a few exceptions). Most of what I was making is already on this blog, so it felt silly to post about it. Hopefully I’ll have some new recipes and improvements on old ones in the next few weeks. I just started a CSA, so I’m trying new recipes to make use of all my produce. Speaking of which…

I got a giant of a beet, an even more enormous celeriac, and a bunch of orange carrots in my CSA this week. I flipped through my Ottolenghi cookbooks (Plenty and Jerusalem) for inspiration, and I actually found a recipe in Jerusalem that is built around those three ingredients: Root vegetable slaw with labneh.IMG_1822

I made the slaw almost exactly according to the recipe, but ate it slightly differently. Instead of labneh (I only had thick greek yogurt, but having already eaten a fair amount earlier in the day, decided against going back for more), I toasted some pita and ate the slaw on top of pita slathered with hummus. So good. The recipe makes a mountain of the stuff, so there’s plenty left for experimentation, even after dishing some out to the neighbors. Maybe someday I’ll finally make my own pita, and then this meal will really be something special. 

IMG_1822

Root vegetable slaw, ever so slightly tweaked from Ottolenghi’s recipe in Jerusalem (p. 49)

Ingredients

1 lb/450 g beets (approximately 3 md. beets)

9 oz/250 g carrots (approximately 2 md. carrots)

10 oz/300 g celery root (approximately 1/2 of one celery root)

4 Tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

4 Tbsp olive oil

3 Tbsp sherry vinegar

2 tsp coconut sugar

3/4 cup cilantro, roughly chopped

3/4 cup mint, roughly chopped

2/3 cup parsley, roughly chopped

1/2 Tbsp grated lemon zest

salt and black pepper to taste

Method

Peel the veggies and chop them into matchsticks (if you have a mandolin or a food processor, this step will be quick. If you’re equipped only with a knife, like me, then enter your Zen chopping mode because this is going to take a while.

Put all of the sliced veggies into a large bowl and cover with cold water.

In a small pot. add the lemon juice, oil, vinegar, sugar, and 1 tsp salt and bring to a simmer. Stir until salt and sugar are dissolved and remove from heat.

Drain the veggies and lay them out to dry on paper towels (they’ll get stained by the beets…). Once dry, add them to a dry bowl, and pour the dressing over them. Mix and refrigerate at least 45 minutes.

Before serving, mix in the herbs, lemon zest, and salt and pepper to taste. Eat with labneh or greek yogurt, as Ottolenghi instructs, or on top of pita and hummus.

I wish I could have used my own carrots in this recipe, but because we didn’t thin them aggressively enough, they’re teensy tiny! We’ll remember that for next year…

IMG_1824

Leave a Reply

