Raw kale salad with creamy tahini-miso-ginger dressing

Winter and I are not cool. Even though this was probably one of the mildest, driest winters in Portland history, it might as well have been one continuous blustery downpour. I finally succumbed to the stresses of graduate school and could locate zero energy for posting recipes. All of this, however, has come to a glorious end, as spring (and spring break) beckon. So, please enjoy an easy salad recipe that I recently ate for every meal, several days straight, when, instantaneously, my hunger for greens became insatiable.  I adapted the recipe for the dressing from Our Four ForksIMG_1330

Ingredients

1/2 cup farro, cooked*

1 cup loosely packed shredded lacinato kale (I only removed the parts of the stalk that aren’t attached to the leaf parts. If you cut/shred thinly enough, the crunch of the stalk is kind of nice).

1/2 cup garbanzo beans (rinsed, if you use canned)

For the dressing:

1/3 cup tahini

1 garlic clove, minced

2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 Tbsp miso paste (I used yellow)

1/3 cup water

1 tsp fresh grated ginger, or more to taste (I added more ginger the second time I made this)

Method

Measure all the dressing ingredients into a jar with a tight-fitting lid. Shake like nobody’s business until everything is mixed and creamy.

Assemble the farro, kale and beans in a bowl. Toss with lots of dressing. Enjoy. You’ll have some leftover dressing to boot.

*To cook the farro: I’ve taken to cooking a large quantity of farro in my crock pot on the weekends. I put in as much farro as I think I will eat in a week, cover with plenty of water, and add about a Tbsp of olive oil and a dash of salt. I cook on high for ~3 hours, or until the farro is cooked to my desired consistency. Then I drain off the remaining liquid. Cooked arro doesn’t seem to keep very long in the fridge so freezing is a good idea if you want to make a ton and don’t plan to eat this salad for lunch an entire week.

IMG_1331

IMG_1332

One thought on “Raw kale salad with creamy tahini-miso-ginger dressing

Leave a Reply

