Classic veggie chili

I make this chili consistently throughout the fall and winter. I know I’ve posted the recipe before, but I felt like a re-do was in order (it’s been a while…)

IMG_0998

I refreshed many of my spices today in the bulk isle at my favorite grocery store, so this particular pot of chili was extra bold and flavorful. (I didn’t know until relatively recently that spices lose their, well, spice, over time! Seeds keep longer than ground spices, so if you want to buy spices and then forget about them, go for the whole spice. I am up for frequent re-stocking, so I I go for mostly ground).

IMG_0999
We’re labeling periodic style. Just because.

Convenience may be a theme here, because I realize that I was all about the chili from scratch the last time I posted. This time, I used all canned beans, and frozen corn. The chili came out delicious, and I was happy to have saved the time. I also skipped the eggplant/sweet potato/miscellaneous squash addition. I just didn’t feel like taking the time to chop. Truthfully, I didn’t miss it. The chili is still extremely filling, and has plenty of variety. Basically, you can tweak this recipe to your heart’s delight. It’s robust enough to withstand just about anything.

IMG_0997

Ingredients

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp ground cumin seed (spice measurements are approximate–I eye ball).

1 tsp ground coriander seed

1 tsp turmeric

2 Tbsp chili powder

1 Tbsp oregano

2 tsp basil

5 cans beans–mixture of pinto, kidney, and black beans–rinsed

1 28-oz can diced tomatoes

28 oz water

1 large bell pepper, any color

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1 medium red onion, diced

2 cups corn kernels, frozen, fresh or canned

juice of half a lemon

1 cup fresh cilantro, washed and chopped

sour cream, to taste (omit for vegan chili)

shredded cheddar cheese, to taste (ditto)

Method

Heat the oil in a large pot over low heat. When hot, add the cumin, coriander, turmeric and chili powder. Stir.

Add the garlic, onion and bell pepper, stir.

After a few minutes, add the beans. Stir well. Then add the tomatoes and ~28 ox water. Crank up the heat to medium-high. Stir again.

Add the corn. Yes, you got it- stir!

Add the basil and oregano, stirring some more.

Squeeze in the lemon juice, turn the heat back down, and let the chili simmer for 45 min-1 hr.

Top with sour cream, cheese and cilantro (and stir).

IMG_0997

I’ve just realized that I didn’t have to add any salt and pepper to this batch. Wow. Obviously add some if you like, but you may not need to.

This recipe makes 4-6 servings, depending on how big an eater you are. It tastes even better on day 2 (hooray for lunch tomorrow!) It’s also totally fine to freeze.

Leave a Reply

