Cozy kale, quinoa and bean bowl

I started my ride home tonight in a light drizzle. By the time I was half way there, the rain had stopped and the cloudy sky had become absolutely gorgeous–permeated by pockets of late afternoon sunshine. Fall has arrived, full stop. Feeling the autumn spirit, I busied myself with brainstorming dinner ideas as I made my way along the river. The desire to be cozy in my kitchen led me straight to parmesan cheese, for some reason. From there, I arrived at an idea for a quick kale, quinoa and bean bowl. And shortly thereafter, I arrive home and started cooking!

IMG_0947

 

Ingredients

one bunch kale, stemmed, washed and dried (I had prepped the kale last night after I got home from the grocery store)

1.5 cans kidney beans

1.5 cups quinoa, cooked (I had some leftover quinoa in the fridge)

parmesan cheese, to taste

3-4 Tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

IMG_0948

Method

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Divide the kale between two baking sheets and toss the kale on each sheet with 1-2 Tbsp olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast for 10 or so minutes.

Meanwhile, cook the quinoa, if you need to. Otherwise, make good use of any leftover grains! And if you have a microwave, heat them up.

Rinse the beans and mix them with the quinoa. Option to add 1 Tbsp olive oil here.

After 10 minutes, remove the kale and stir, turning leaves that are burning. Sprinkle the kale with parmesan cheese and return to oven for 3-5 minutes.

When your cheese is melty, remove the kale from the oven and mix with the quinoa and beans. Top with a bit more parm and serve.

(I mixed everything together in a casserole dish and then popped it all in the oven to warm up my quinoa, which had been in the fridge).

IMG_0946

The kale is crispy and cheesy, the beans are velvety, and this bowl is just so simple and good!

Leave a Reply

