Lemon dijon green beans with almonds

I couldn’t remember the last time I bought green beans, until I picked up these ones at our neighborhood farmer’s market this week. Historically, I’ve prepared my green beans the same way: with some combo of garlic (power or fresh) and soy sauce (although in recent history it’s usually been Braggs). This was a staple side dish of my mother’s, a soy sauce devotee, and one of the first recipes I can recall recreating as a child.

Anyway, a friend mentioned cooking up a ton of market beans with shallots the other day, and it got me thinking that I should try something different. So, I looked around for some good ideas and came across this jewel on Green Kitchen Stories. I altered the recipe slightly (deliberately and not so much…big oops to forgetting the green onion, because I have a forest of them growing in my yard!) to produce my own version, and I’ll definitely be making it again. This is a great picnic dish!

IMG_0755

 

Ingredients

~1 lb green beans, washed

1.5 Tbsp dijon mustard

1.5 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp honey

juice of 1/2 a lemon

1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

1 large handful almonds, roughly chopped

+1 green onion, chopped (optional)

Method

Steam the green beans until just tender.

Meanwhile, whisk together the other ingredients except the almonds (and green onion if using) to make the sauce.

IMG_0749
Someone was making himself known, rather conspicuously, as it was close to his dinner time.

When the green beans are ready, toss them in the sauce and top with the almonds (and green onion if using) and extra black pepper to serve.

IMG_0751

IMG_0754

2 thoughts on “Lemon dijon green beans with almonds

Leave a Reply

