(vegan) chocolate pudding

Vegan is in parenthesis because you’d never know this pudding wasn’t straight from a snack pack, except for the fact that you won’t suffer a postprandial sugar high and subsequent crash after devouring it. I made my first batch following this recipe from Party in My Plants, a fun blog I’ve recently started perusing. It’s wonderful as is, but I wanted to cut down the maple syrup, so I made a batch tonight using 3 large dates plus just a tiny bit of maple syrup and the result was phenomenal. I’m going to go ahead and consider this a great post-workout snack–with avocado, chia seeds, dates and soymilk, you’re getting a lot of quality nutrients and fats in a serving of this pudding, with almost no added sweetener. (I made this right after a run…) Cheers to that!

UPDATE: I’m now making this with ZERO added sweetener. Just dates. If you use enough dates, you’re golden. I’d say I use 5-6 large dates when I’m using a large avocado.

IMG_0691

Ingredients

1 very ripe avocado, peeled and seeded

1/4 cup soymilk (or milk of your choice)

1/4 cup unsweetened cacao powder

3 large mejool dates, pitted (If you up the dates to 5-6, you can skip the maple syrup)

1 Tbsp chia seeds

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp maple syrup (if using)

Method

Put all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. I like to leave tiny date flecks! (You could use an immersion blender to make this as well).

Refrigerate for about 20 min, then serve.

IMG_0692

One thought on “(vegan) chocolate pudding

  1. Awesome! I love that you cut down on the maple syrup! It IS a great post-workout snack. Thanks so much for reading Party in my Plants! I’m going to have to try YOUR recipe now. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

