Smoothie crazed, at long last

When it comes to food trends, I guess I’m one of those bandwagon stragglers. First with the kale, now with the smoothies. Anyway, I’ve been making smoothies now for several weeks and I’m loving them. Thanks to my Vitamix they’re fast and easy, and thanks to Oregon’s summer bounty, they’re full of wonderful fruit.

IMG_0656

This one is outstanding. The MVP is definitely the dates–those little pieces that remain when the rest of the smoothie is uniformly, well, smooth, are a treat.

Ingredients (serves 2)

1.5 cups soy milk

1-2 Tbsp flax seeds

.5 tsp cinnamon

2-3 large dates

1-2 frozen bananas

~1 cup frozen strawberries (this is usually 3 huge strawberries or 5 or 6 smaller ones)

~1 cup frozen spinach

~.5 cup frozen blueberries

Method

Add all ingredients to your blender and blend! If you’re using a Vitamix, pour the milk first, then the flax and cinnamon and dates, and then the frozen stuff. It blends better that way. This recipe is best when consumed directly after making. See below for the make-ahead version.

IMG_0655
I take my smoothies to work in jars like this, and put a coozie on for easy drinking!
IMG_0660
All dressed up and ready to go.

 

I find that these smoothies keep me full for quite a while, which is a feat. I plan to experiment with other combinations in the near future, but this one is a winner for now.

 

So. Turns out this recipe is delicious if you down it right after making it. It does not impress, however, when made a day ahead. Here’s my recipe for my day-ahead smoothie that keeps me fuller than the above (read: added peanut butter):

Ingredients (serves 2)

2 cups soy milk

1-2 Tbsp flax seeds

.5 tsp cinnamon

5 small-medium dates

1 bananas (frozen or not)

~1 cup frozen strawberries (this is usually 3 huge strawberries or 5 or 6 smaller ones)

~1 cup frozen spinach

1 heaping Tbsp peanut butter

Method

Put all ingredients in blender and blend until desired consistency reached. Freeze ~1hr if you’re making the night before, and then refrigerate over night and until you imbibe!

Leave a Reply

