Summer cabbage-carrot stir fry with rice noodles and egg

I recently had the pleasure of meeting a friend’s flock of chickens, and taking home a dozen of their precious eggs. When I break them open, the yolks are the deepest yellow-orange I’ve ever encountered. The texture is different too–silkier, perhaps. I knew I wanted to incorporate them into some meals, so I decided to try an interesting sounding recipe for a cabbage-carrot-noodle dish that includes an egg pancake, from the New York Times Recipes for Health series.

IMG_0518

So glad I did. I tweaked the Times recipe a bit, based on what I had (and what I forgot to get at the store). I’d definitely do it again, my way.

Ingredients

1 small purple cabbage, sliced thinly

1 bunch carrots, washed, peeled and grated

1/2 cup mung bean sprouts

chopped cilantro (with stems) to taste

2 Tbsp Braggs aminos (or soy suce)

2 tsp rice vinegar

1/2 tsp brown sugar

1/2 cup veggie broth or water

2 Tbsp canola oil (use peanut if you have it)

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 Tbsp fresh minced ginger

2 large eggs, beaten

1/2 package of brown rice noodles

salt and sriracha to taste.

Method

Cook the noodles according to the package. In my case, this meant soaking them in hot water for 6-8 minutes.

Make the sauce by combining the Braggs, vinegar, sugar, and broth/water.

Heat a large skillet or wok and when it’s hot, add 2 tsp of the oil. Then pour in the eggs. Let them set, like a pancake, and flip when you can manage/before the bottom burns. When the pancake is cooked through to your liking, remove from the wok to a plate. I turned the heat down at this point, by a little.

Add the remaining oil to the wok, and then the garlic and ginger. Stir for a minute or so, and then add the cabbage, carrots and sprouts. A few minutes later, throw in the sauce and cooked and drained noodles. Stir things up. Then add the cilantro and egg pancake, stir and turn off the heat. Add salt and sriracha to taste. Devour.

IMG_0516

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

