Spring penne with broccoli pesto

School’s out! Finally, time/energy to invest in buying, preparing and writing about good food again. I’ve been in quite the culinary rut over the past couple of months–just absolutely no creative juices percolating in the food realm. My diet has consisted of lots of trail mix, peanut butter-banana sandwiches and scrambled eggs–the basics. I was ready to bust out of my boring, vegetable-starved pattern when I came across a recipe for broccoli-stem pesto from First Mess. Bingo. I decided to make a spring pasta with penne, some heirloom grape and cherry tomatoes, goat cheese, and white beans. If I’d had some fresh basil I’d have thrown that on top as well.

IMG_0522

Ingredients 

Broccoli stem pesto, to taste

whole wheat pasta of your choice (I had penne, but I’d prefer rotini for this dish)

Cannellini beans, rinsed and drained (use as much as you like–if you’re making a whole box of pasta, I’d use at least a whole can of beans, but that’s just me).

grape/cherry tomatoes, chopped into halves or quarters, depending on their size, your preference

goat cheese, to taste

salt and pepper to taste

Method

Cook the pasta. Toss with lots of pesto, tomatoes, goat cheese and beans. Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy!

IMG_0520

IMG_0521

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

