Loaded granola, lightly sweetened

I LOVED the blueberry/chia/almond accidental granola I made Sunday. My only reservation was the amount of sweetener. The recipe called for 1/2 cup of sucanat or alternative sweetener, plus a 1/4 cup of brown rice syrup. I used coconut sugar instead of sucanat, and less than a 1/4 cup of honey in that recipe, but still, it was fairly sweet, and I like to start my mornings virtually sugar free. So, I experimented with a variation today.

IMG_0269

IMG_0273

To cut down on the added sweetener, I added chopped dates and apricots to the ingredients list. I used only a 1/4 cup of coconut sugar, and about a tablespoon of honey. I think the batch is enough for about 6 good sized breakfasts, so that’s less than a tablespoon of added sweeter per serving. Not bad! But I think I can cut it down even more in the next batch, because I eat my granola with soymilk, which is already slightly sweet.

Here’s the new recipe, adapted from the Oh She Glows recipe linked in my previous post.

Ingredients

Dry:

1 1/4 cup oat flour (just process rolled oats until you’ve got a flour-like substance)

2 cups rolled oats

1/4 cup coconut sugar or other sugar substitute*

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

2 Tbsp chia seeds

1 cup chopped dried fruit of your choice (I did a combo of dates and apricots)

Wet:

1/4 cup applesauce

1 scant Tablespoon honey*

3 Tbsp nut butter

2 tbsp vanilla

Other:

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

1-2 cups frozen blueberries

Method

Preheat oven to 350

Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

Mix the wet ingredients in a small bowl.

Pour wet into dry and mix well.

Add “other” ingredients and mix.

Depending on whether you want a crunchier granola or a softer one, bake either on a baking sheet (put parchment paper down first for easy cleanup and a fun art project) or in a casserole dish.

Bake at 350 for about half an hour. Keep an eye on things if you’re baking on a baking sheet– the granola will cook faster this way. If after 30 minutes, it’s still too soft for your liking, keep baking, and just check on the granola every so often to prevent burning.

*Next time, I plan to use 2 Tbsp honey, and zero coconut sugar or other sweetener.

Enjoy for breakfast or a snack with milk, yogurt, or by itself. I added strawberries for extra fruit and flavor. Any way, it’s delicious.

IMG_0272

IMG_0274

IMG_0275

IMG_0277

Leave a Reply

