Blueberry oat almond granola

Full disclosure: I followed an Oh She Glows recipe to make blueberry almond chia squares and ended up with granola. Albeit, granola good enough to warrant posting.

IMG_0261
my oops! granola

Here’s the part where I come up with an excuse (and this time, it’s a legitimate one). I accidentally turned my oven off when turning the oven timer off, so my squares didn’t bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. I’m not sure exactly what went on, but it took me quite a while to realize that my oven was in fact off. I probably should have re-baked for 30 minutes at 350, when I had re-pre-heated my oven, but I don’t have the patience for that sort of thing. So I took the blueberry concoction out after probably 10-12 minutes at 350, with no idea how much baking had gone on prior, and discovered that I had produced a tasty granola. That works for me! Next time I’ll make the squares. For now, the granola is scrumptious, and will be my offering tomorrow at a morning class potluck. I also inadvertently created a piece of art and perhaps a whole new artistic medium: parchment paper and baked fruit. (See below).

IMG_0263
I need to think of an evocative title…

To make the granola/bars, I followed the Oh She Glows recipe except that I substituted coconut sugar for the sucanat/brown sugar, honey for the brown rice syrup, and used 1 tsp of vanilla instead of two. As far as the first two amendments go, I used a bit less of each sweetener than the recipe called for. For the vanilla, I just screwed that up. I did not use almond extract because I don’t have it and I didn’t realize it was an ingredient until after I had been to the store. Also, I used frozen wild blueberries instead of fresh. Lastly, I used peanut butter as my nut butter. All good choices!

Leave a Reply

