Grains/greens/onion/dried fruit combo strikes again

This is yet another iteration of the Ottolenghi style dinners I make frequently these days. The key components are:

  • grains
  • greens
  • caramelized onion
  • dried fruit
  • citrus juice
  • reduced balsamic vinegar
  • a protein of your choice (nuts, legumes, beans)

Sometimes I add chopped nuts, goat cheese, and other scrumptious roasted veggies. But the basic combo is delish.

IMG_0179

This version featured chopped dried apricots, broccoli, chickpeas, onions of course, and quinoa. I used fresh lemon juice and just a drizzle of the reduced balsamic I now keep in a jar in my fridge. Salt and pepper is all it needs after that.

Additionally, I celebrated some exciting news in classic Jocelyn fashion:

IMG_0181By tearing into an artichoke! I ate this one plain, because I love the taste of artichokes so much, but usually I dip in garlicky olive oil or melted butter, if I’m feeling particularly gluttonous. My preferred method for cooking artichokes is roasting. I cut the tops off the chokes, smush garlic cloves into the leaves, and finish off with a squeeze lemon, a generous drizzle olive oil and salt and pepper. Then I wrap it up in foil and bake it for an hour or so (maybe a bit more) at 425. When I’m pressed for time, however, simply steaming an artichoke and enjoying all of its natural flavor works for me!

Leave a Reply

