A breakfast solution 2.0 (For real this time)

I know talked a big game about those make-ahead multigrain porridge squares, but, full disclosure, I only made them twice. That’s because they were time consuming to make, I quickly tired of their spice-rich flavor (I guess I like my oats on the bland side…) and because I discovered this method of preparing a week’s worth of steel cut oats at a time. I have adapted the technique slightly to accommodate my personally-elevated recommended dietary allowance of wild blueberries and the fact that I eat breakfast at home, and therefore the cute glass jars are superfluous. (Plus I still* can’t pour without spilling everywhere, so when I tried to do the cute glass jars thing anyway, it didn’t go well). My way is super fast and easy and spill-proof.

IMG_0123

Ingredients (makes enough for 5 generous servings)

1 2/3 cups steel cut oats

4 cups water

pinch of salt

optional: an abundance of frozen wild blueberries**

Method:

Put oats, water and salt into a large-ish pot. Bring to a boil, stir it for good measure, and then lower heat and simmer for 3 minutes. Turn off heat.

IMG_0118

Pour in as many blueberries (or frozen fruit of choice) as you like, and stir it all up.

IMG_0120

Pour the mixture into a large bowl and let it cool. Cover with plastic wrap or a plastic wrap alternative of your choice and leave out on counter for 5-8 hours (overnight, if you please). After this, you’ll want to keep the oats in the fridge.

IMG_0125

          In the morning

Measure out your serving of oats into a small pot in the morning, adding as much soy milk (or milk of choice) to the pot. Mash a bit to disintegrate chunks, and add chia seeds if you like that sort of thing. Stir it, and let it get nice and hot. The heating process does not take long.

Top with cut up banana and walnuts, if you want to eat exactly the same breakfast as I do. Otherwise, do your own thing with fruit and nuts and seeds.

Enjoy with the coffee that brewed while you were heating your oats, washing your face, and doing other morning stuff while not having to tend the stove!

IMG_0121
This is what a week-old serving looks like before heating with soy milk

*My brother used to tease me that it wasn’t a family dinner until Jocelyn spilled something. That was pretty much true. And we had family dinners almost every single weeknight of our childhood.

**I’ve become obsessed with wild frozen blueberries since I learned that they’re way more antioxidant rich than non-wild varieties. Plus, they’re not prohibitively expensive like fresh blueberries. I use almost an entire bag each week in my oats.

Leave a Reply

