Major miso soup

It was cold, and I wanted to be hot. Miso soup sounded like a logical next step. Having only ever made one miso soup recipe (Mark Bittman’s loaded miso soup), I wanted to branch out a bit and use what I had on hand.  I had this recipe bookmarked, from 101 Cookbooks, and there was nice agreement between the recipe and my fridge. Thus, I went for it.

IMG_0054

And it was…so good! Who would have considered miso + tahini? Not I. Turns out, it’s a rockin’ combo. Seriously, this soup is simply and fast to make, and totally impressive.

IMG_0053

Especially once you remember to add the toasted kale.

IMG_0055

IMG_0056
I know, this picture isn’t so pretty. But it’s a realistic reflection of my post-stir miso soup.

I took the liberty of topping the soup with pan fried tofu. Definitely a smart move. The product was incredibly hearty–not an adjective I typically associate with miso soup–but absolutely the case with this one.

PS: If you’re wondering why there’s been a pause in my postings recently–I just started back at school for 2nd term, and am scrambling to find time to post! Definitely still cooking, though. Hang in there with me!

 

Leave a Reply

