Healthy chocolate mousse cake with cashew cream

What happens when you “no-bake” a cake for your class, and then you’re too sick to go to class?

You get to eat the whole thing…

IMG_1482

Lucky me! Because this cake is ridiculously good, and has just a tiny drop of honey as added sweetener. The rest of the sweetness comes from dates. (Loooove those dates).

The recipe is from, where else, This Rawsome Vegan Life.

I used buckwheat groats for the crust, and instead of raisins, which I didn’t have, I used more dates. In my case, the crust did not meld very well, and so the cake is very fragile. Thankfully, I don’t care what it looks like, as long as it tastes amazing. But if I were making this cake again, I would try oats or seeds for the crust, and stick to raisins. I’ve had better luck with those in the past.

IMG_1484

The best thing about having the responsibility of eating this cake mostly on my own, is that it really is more like eating a snack than a dessert. The short-list of healthy, yummy ingredients is: avocado, dates, cashew cream and buckwheat–so its high in protein and nutrients. You can tell yourself that while you dig in!

 

Leave a Reply

