Finally, a breakfast solution

Until recently, I was one of those annoying and ridiculous people who lectured about the satisfaction of taking time to make oatmeal on the stove every morning. No, it’s not too time consuming, I would say, it’s worth it to me to have my healthy, delicious oats! (Hint: it should be worth it to you too–don’t you know how much money you’re wasting on cereal? And how much sugar is lurking inside that wasteful cardboard box? And don’t get me started on microwaves…)

I’m not sure what, but something has changed, and so I’ve been exploring alternative morning meal options of late. I was eating a mixture of cereals (yes, I’m a hypocrite) but the prices are so obnoxious and the sugar does not make me happy, so the search endured.

Now, I’m thrilled to report, I’ve found a solution. Thanks to The First Mess, I’m routinely chowing down on warm, healthy cozy multigrain porridge. It warms unattended while my coffee percolates, allowing me free reign of the house to get ready for the day. (Unlike oatmeal, which kept me chained to the stove). This breakfast is filling, nourishing, and easy to personalize. You make a big batch, like this:

IMG_1462
I substituted frozen blueberries for the dried fruit in the recipe

And cut out a serving each morning. Heat it on the stove with a little milk, and top with your favorite fruits, nuts and seeds. Voila:

IMG_1478
With walnuts, banana and chia seeds.

I’m smitten. This could be the real deal.

One thought on “Finally, a breakfast solution

Leave a Reply

