Kale: I’m finally jumping on the bandwagon

Although I’ve been trying to be super enthusiastic about kale for the past couple of years, secretly, I wasn’t convinced. I didn’t appreciate the tedious de-veining, and never thought the labor justified the outcome. That is, until I bought a different type of kale just a few days ago. Instead of the Lacinto variety, I bought a curlier kind with less prominent veins (the varietal name escapes me). Now I get it– kale is awesome!! These leaves are more pliable and soft, the veins are way easier to cut out, and the product is more tender. I threw this kale into several of my latest dishes, including this really simple and fast lunch.

IMG_1344

 

I had some cooked kidney beans, leftover brown rice, and this kale, all torn up and ready to go (I’m trying to get better at washing and storing my veggies right after I purchase them, so they are ready for use at a moment’s notice). Even with so few ingredients, I was delighted with the results.

Ingredients

kidney beans, cooked

brown rice, cooked

kale, de-veined and torn into pieces

olive oil

garlic, minced (mince 10 minutes before you’re going to heat the garlic– this maximizes the health benefits*)

sriracha

salt and pepper

Method

Heat the olive oil in a skillet and add the kale. Let it cook down a few minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add the garlic, beans, rice and stir.

Cook until everything is heated through.

Season with salt and pepper and sriracha, and a drizzle more olive oil.

Enjoy!

IMG_1345

 

*I’ve finally got my hands on Jo Robinson’s amazing book, Eating on the Wild Side, in which she exposes all kinds of relevant and interesting scientific information about the foods we eat every day, including, how to get the biggest nutritional payoffs from your food. Strategies include: knowing which varieties to buy (I’ll have to look into whether Lacinto kale or this new kind is actually more nutritious), knowing which cooking and preparing methods promote or enhance the bioavailability of the intrinsic nutrients, and knowing which fruits and vegetables to actually avoid because of their negative impact on our health (certain types of apples, like Golden Delicious, super sweet corn). I’m literally giddy about all the incredible information being shared in this book– I’ve been reading it before bed and taking notes because there’s just so much to learn. I’ll try to share bits and pieces on my blog, as the book makes an impact on how I choose my ingredients and prepare them. I encourage everyone to check out this book!

Leave a Reply

