Pumpkin Tofu Fried Rice with Kale

This autumn-appropriate recipe was brought to my attention by my best friend and food-enthusiast, Emma, who found it here on the Happy Healthy Life blog.  Emma made a version of the recipe as well, subbing scallops for the tofu, and adding carrots to make it even more orange. I found myself fresh out of scallops tonight, so I went with tofu this time around.

I tend to forget how great OJ is in grain salads/stir fries. I will get into an OJ routine and then promptly and inexplicably forget about it, completely, until a recipe like this crosses my path. I tweaked it just a tad, omitting the maple syrup from Kathy’s recipe, and instead letting the sweetness of the pumpkin puree offset the mild acidity of the rice wine vinegar I introduced to the mix.  The result was a delightful riff on fried rice. Yum.

IMG_1343

 

Ingredients

2 cups brown rice, cooked (I did the rice a day ahead)

2 cups kale, torn into bite size pieces, stems removed

4 big strips tofu, cooked, and then diced into bite sized squares (I did the tofu ahead too)

1-2 tbsp pistachio nuts, chopped (you could use more– I ran out)

4 tbsp pumpkin puree

3 tsp olive oil

1 small onion, diced

1 large garlic clove, minced

3-4 tbsp orange juice

1 pinch cayenne pepper

salt and pepper to taste

a splash rice wine vinegar

Method

Heat 2 tsp olive oil over medium heat in a large skilled

Add the onions, stirring for a few minutes

Add the pistachios and stir

After a few minutes, add the remaining tsp olive oil, the rice, garlic, pumpkin, cayenne and S&P, and stir, mixing it all up. You can turn the heat down if your rice is sticking too much.

Add the OJ and stir, letting it get soaked up by the rice.

Add the kale and stir.

Add the rice vinegar and stir.

Throw that tofu in, mix it all up, and serve!

IMG_1343

 

 

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Tofu Fried Rice with Kale

Leave a Reply

