Quick and dirty butternut squash with refried beans and cabbage

This may not be the prettiest dish I’ve made, but it tasted good and it came together quickly, and that’s what counts these days!

IMG_1327

I guess we can consider this a deconstructed, naked burrito, if we want to get fancy and use names.

Four ingredients, people, four ingredients. Six, if you count olive oil and sriracha.

Ingredients

Roasted butternut squash (I used half a squash)

1 can refried beans

1 cup cabbage, sliced into thin strips

1/4 onion, diced

Method

Saute the onions in olive oil

Add the roasted squash, stirring

Add the refried beans, stirring to distribute the beans

Add the cabbage, stirring

Once everything is heated through and mixed, and the cabbage is a little wilted, remove from heat

Top with sriracha and serve!

IMG_1328
Yum.

On a completely unrelated note, I spent the weekend in St. Louis, as previously mentioned, to attend a fabulous wedding. I also played darts, and frankly, I kicked ass. This is a big deal, because I typically play darts about as well as I bowl. Refer to visual for evidence:

IMG_1323
I was the right-most column (J)

I’m back in Portland, now. Friends have been requesting more photos of my new home! Here’s a snapshot of the fog lifting during my morning walk with the dog in the park.

IMG_1324

Leave a Reply

