Roasted brussels sprouts and broccoli pasta with creamy cashew sauce

On Saturday, I went out for what I thought would be a 4-5 mile run.  4-5 turned into 7 when I got sucked into the Bermuda Triangle that is Reed College. Seven is my longest distance in a while (sadly) so I really worked up an appetite. We had some brussels sprouts and broccoli in the fridge, and some pasta and cashews in the pantry. I did a little perusing of the internets, and found two recipes that I thought would be awesome if combined. I took the recipe for the Roasted Buddha Bowl from Oh She Glows (see my post with the link to Angela’s recipe) and combined it with a recipe for Creamy Fettuccine with Brussels Sprouts from Eating Well. Instead of making a fettuccine sauce, I made a version of the cashew sauce from the Buddha Bowl. I poured that over bite-sized roasted sprouts and broccoli and rotini pasta. Then I threw on some lightly toasted pepitas, a squeeze of lemon, and voila, a ridiculously delicious vegan dinner was born.

IMG_1284Ingredients (serves 2 really hungry people)

2 cups brussels sprouts, cut into bite sized pieces (halved or quartered, depending on their size)

1 small head broccoli, cut into bite sized florets (I always include slices of the stem as well– it tastes good and you waste a lot less)

2 tsp olive oil

salt and pepper

fresh or dried herbs of your choice (I had a bit of fresh thyme so I threw that in)

3/4 lb of whole wheat pasta, shape of your choice (but rotini worked really well)

1/2 cup cashews, soaked (I used the quick soak method of pouring boiling water over the cashews and letting them soak an hour)

2 Tbsp nutritional yeast

1/2 Tbsp tahini

1 clove garlic, peeled

1 Tbsp lemon juice

reserved pasta water

2-3 Tbsp pepitas

more lemon juice to taste

Method

Preheat the oven to 400ish degrees (I think I did 415)

Spread the sprouts and broccoli onto a baking sheet in one layer, and toss with olive oil, herbs, and salt and pepper

Roast 20-30 minutes, until veggies are fork tender and browning nicely

Before you turn off the oven, toast the pepitas (it will only take a few minutes)

Meanwhile, cook the pasta

Drain the pasta but reserve 1/2 cup of pasta water

In a food processor, mince garlic.

Add the tahini, cashews, nut. yeast, lemon juice, and salt and process until you’ve got a thick paste

Now start adding pasta water, slowly, until you get a thinner (but still substantially creamy) sauce-like consistency

Spoon pasta into bowls, top with roasted veggies, sauce, and pepitas. Add lemon juice and salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_1281
pre-mix
IMG_1282
beauty shot
IMG_1284
ready for eating
IMG_1283
so good.
Leave a Reply

