Fall Favorite and a new look

As soon as I felt a chill in the air, my brain leapt straight to this simple, satisfying recipe from Oh She Glows. I’ve become accustomed to seeing a butternut squash and visualizing this amazing dish. Yes, it’s kind of a pain the butt to peel butternut squash, but I’d rather be dealing with a vegetable peeler and a squash than raw chicken any day. So embrace the challenge of peeling the squash as part of the creation of a healthy, delicious meal, as well as a way to recognize the changing season.

IMG_1260

I haven’t always had such a zen attitude toward the big golden fellas. I once had an episode with a butternut squash that left me pretty pissed off– I’m pretty sure I wrote about it on the blog when it occurred. Basically, the squash oozes a juice that wreaks havoc on some peoples’ skin (mine included). So if you cut off the top first, like I do, and then hold the squash steady while you peel, you risk exposing yourself to the squash’s suppurations. I have not only recovered from this unfortunate experience, but I have adapted as well. I now hold the top of the squash, post decapitation, with a towel to protect my dainty (yeah right) hands.

Back to the recipe. It calls for roasted squash, so that’s going to be your first step. Also, this recipe deviates slightly from Angela’s original.

Ingredients

1 butternut squash, peeled, de-seeded, and diced into small, bit size pieces, no larger than 1” cubes.

1 cup red lentils

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 sweet onion, diced

1 Tbsp curry powder

3 garlic cloves, minced

4 cups veggie stock

fresh ginger, grated or diced

1-2 cups spinach

lemon juice

salt and pepper

Method

preheat your oven to 425

toss the squash with a little olive oil, salt and pepper (you can add whatever herb/spices you like, just keep in mind that you’re going to be making a curry)

spread on a baking sheet in a single layer (or 2 sheets, if you’ve got a lot of squash) and roast until tender, 20-30 minutes? prod the cubes to keep them from sticking or burning on one side after 10-15 minutes. (You can definitely roast ahead of time and set aside for later)

heat the oil in a skillet over low heat

add the onions and let them cook for a good while, and start to caramelize. make sure the flame isn’t too strong, or they will burn instead of becoming delicious.

add the garlic, stirring, and let cook a couple minutes

add the ginger and curry powder and stir, let this mixture meld a few minutes

add the lentils and the broth and turn the heat up to bring this to a boil. make sure to stir, and loosen any bits of goodness from the bottom of the skillet.

once the lentils boil, lower the heat and gently simmer. red lentil cook quickly, 10-20 minutes in my experience.

when most of the broth has been absorbed, stir in the squash and spinach and give it a squeeze of lemon.

season with salt and pepper and serve and devour.

IMG_1260

And, for your viewing pleasure, a scenic pic of my new hood.

IMG_1243

What do you think of my new blog theme? Like the old one better? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

