Garlic ginger tofu with napa cabbage, green beans, soba noodles and cashews

IMG_1087

This was one of the most delightful meals I’ve made in a while. I don’t know why I don’t use napa cabbage more often– I love the stuff, but rarely buy it. Gotta fix that. The other component that made this dinner extra special was the tofu. Since I stopped my crop share (which was AMAZING, but no longer geographically practical), I haven’t been buying my cases of MoFu tofu, and therefore, have not been consuming tofu at all. Once you go MoFu, you never go back. I guess not never, considering last night’s dinner, but certainly infrequently. By the way, I really wish the St. Louis grocery chains would get with it and stock MoFu. It won’t be a problem for me personally anymore in a few weeks, because of my impending move to Portland, but still, I feel for all the remaining MoFu-ignorant St. Louisans.

Anyway, back to my yummy dinner.

For the tofu marinade:

1 tbsp fresh ginger, diced

1 tbsp garlic, diced

3 tbsp rice vinegar

1 tbsp oil

1 tbsp braggs aminos

2 tbsp white miso

1 tsp sesame oil

1 tsp agave

Place sliced tofu in a shallow dish and coat with marinade.

I reserved a few tablespoons of the mixture to use a sauce on the final product.

Several hours later, when I was ready to make dinner, I baked the tofu while prepping the veggies and noodles.

For the veggies:

~4 cups green beans, ends trimmed and snapped into bite-sized pieces

~8 cups chopped napa cabbage

Heat a skillet over med-high heat. Throw in green beans and a 1/4 cup or so water, once the pan is hot.

After a few minutes, stirring occasionally, add the napa cabbage and stir. Cook for a few more minutes until beans and cabbage are done. Then add the remaining sauce, tossing to coat.

For the noodles:

bring a pot of water to a rolling boil

add noodles and cook 3 minutes

drain and rinse in cold water

in a serving boil, toss drained noodles in a little sesame oil. Add the veggies to the bowl and toss.

For the toppings:

chop 2 green onions (greens included!! they are the most healthy part)

chop a handful of cashews

sriracha chili sauce

To serve: 

Dish out a big serving of the veggie/noodle mix, and top with green onions, cashews and a squirt or two of sriracha.

Dig in.

Leave a Reply

