First Arugula Harvest and Ottolenghi Red Rice and Quinoa Recipe

IMG_0805

We planted arugula seeds about 5 weeks ago in our front window boxes, thinking that would be a clever way to keep the greens away from the the innumerable rabbits that live and eat in our yard.

IMG_0804

The north box seemed to do slightly better, probably because it gets more shade, so we harvested it last night, right before dinner.

IMG_0813

After washing…

IMG_0812

it was ready to eat.

I had already prepared the ingredients to make this Ottolenghi Red Rice and Quinoa Recipe. I found it on 101 Cookbooks yesterday, when I thought I’d make something special and new to commemorate our harvest.  Yotam Ottolenghi is the chef who’s cookbooks “Jerusalem” and “Plenty” I don’t use as much as I love!  The ingredients are often elaborate and include spices that I don’t have on hand. This recipe, however, called for nothing exotic, and therefore I was able to pull it together without a trip to the store.

IMG_0815

Quinoa and Red Rice Recipe

Ingredients

1/4 cup shelled pistachios

1 cup quinoa

1 cup red rice (I used regular brown rice because that’s all I had- but I happened to have red quinoa! So I just switched the red label to the quinoa)

1 medium white onion, sliced

2/3 cup olive oil

grated zest and juice of one orange (I used 4-5 tsp of OJ and the zest of a lemon instead of a whole orange, which I didn’t have)

2 tsp lemon juice

1 garlic clove, crushed

4 spring onions, thinly sliced

1/2 cup dried apricots, roughly chopped

2 handfuls of arugula

salt and black pepper

Method

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Toast the pistachios on a baking sheet for about 8 minutes, or until lightly colored. Remove from oven and let cool, then chop roughly (I just realized that I skipped the rough-chop step)

Cook the quinoa and the rice is separate pots. (I used a little veggie broth to cook both grains)

While the grains are cooking, saute the onion in 4 tbsp of olive oil until golden brown. Let cool completely (I didn’t let the onions cool– still tasted great)

In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients and the remaining olive oil. Serve at room temperature.

(As you can see, I departed a tad from the recipe. I also made the grains and toasted the pistachios ahead of time. When it came time for dinner, all I had to do was saute the onions, which then we ate hot, because we were hungry).

IMG_0814

Leave a Reply

