Eggplant and chickpea quinoa with green onions

It’s been a while since I bought an eggplant, but it’s that time of year again so I picked up a small one up last week. The weather was demanding something light, so eggplant lasagna, a favorite all winter, was not a contender. I leafed through some of my cookbooks and still nothing caught my eye, so I just started dicing the eggplant and making it up as I went along.

I heated some oil in a large skillet and started tossing around spices: cumin seeds, ground cumin, ground corriander, tumeric, garlic powder, and garam masala. Once they began to sizzle, I added the diced eggplant in two batches; to ensure comprehensive spice-coverage. I squeezed some lemon juice over the eggplant, and added 2 diced green onions and a handful of cilantro. And salt and pepper, of course. When all the eggplant was cooked, I re-created the same spice creation and heated up some chickpeas. Throughout all the cooking, I was liberal with the lemon juice. I combined the eggplant and beans with some already cooked quinoa, drizzled a tad more lemon juice, and that was that. Delicious.

IMG_0791
without the garbanzo beans
IMG_0792
final product

Leave a Reply

