Curry carrot soup with wasabi cream

I found this gem in a beautiful cookbook called ‘Simply Organic,’ by Jesse Ziff Cool, which is organized by season. I was perusing the Late Spring section for something to bring to a potluck, and this soup caught my eye. It looked gorgeous and tasty, and called for ingredients I had, so I whipped out my food processor and started chopping carrots. I wish I had a picture of the final product, but all I have documented is the process. The soup is surprisingly filling without being heavy, and extraordinarily delicious.

IMG_1054
I used my immersion blender on this batch. It was slightly chunkier, but there was much less mess to clean up.

IMG_0746

Ingredients

3 tbsp butter (I used vegan butter, and a little less than 3 tbsp)

2 large onions (mine weren’t huge, and I used vidalias)

2 pounds carrots, thinly sliced

1/2 cup mirin cooking wine or apple juice (I used mirin)

6 cups veggie stock

1/4 cup grated ginger (I used a heaping 1/4 cup)

1 tbsp curry powder

1-3 tbsp honey (I used a heaping 1 tbsp)

salt

pepper

1 tbsp wasabi powder (I used wasabi from a tube)

1 cup sour cream or yogurt (I used plain, Greek yogurt)

4 green onions, chopped

Method

dice the carrots and onion

heat the butter in a large stock pot, and add the onion, cooking for 5 minutes, or until onions are soft

add the carrots and the mirin, and stir, cooking for 3 minutes

add the broth, ginger, and curry, and bring the mixture to a boil

lower the heat, cover, and simmer for 40 minutes or until carrots are very tender

–while the soup is cooking–

whisk the wasabi (in whatever form you have) into the yogurt.

stir in the green onions

that’s it for the wasabi cream!

–back to the soup–

remove from heat

process in batches using a food processor or blender (you could try an immersion blender too) until the soup is very smooth

transfer the soup to a large bowl and stir in the honey, salt and pepper

serve room temperature or hot, with a dollop of wasabi cream stirred in to each bowl

Update! I made this again tonight, and took a pic of the bowl. The soup was as good as I remembered.

IMG_0758

Leave a Reply

