Chowder time

I had never attempted a chowder before this one. The picture looked so beautiful in my new cookbook (Vegetarian), though, that I was enticed to try.

My picture may not be quite as professional, but I promise, this is a lovely soup that is also easy and comforting.

IMG_0365

Butternut Squash and Corn Chowder

Ingredients

1 butternut squash

3 tbsp butter or oil

1 small onion, diced

1 fennel bulb, chopped finely

1 large carrot, chopped

1 garlic clove, chopped finely

1 tsp dried chili flakes

2 tbsp flour

3 cups vegetable stock

1 cup milk (I used soy)

frozen or fresh corn (I used about 1 cup frozen)

dill and lime, to taste

Directions

Peel the squash and dice it

Saute the onion, garlic, fennel, and carrot in butter or oil over low-medium heat for about ten minutes.

Add the flour and stir, and then add the squash and stock.

Stir, bring to a boil, and simmer until squash is tender.

Pour in the milk, corn and dill, and continue to simmer.

When you’re ready to serve, garnish with a sprinkle more of dill and a squeeze of lime juice. And salt and pepper, of course.

Depending on how fast of a squash peeler you are, this soup can come together in less than half an hour. A word of warning, however:

Do not overly expose your hands to the flesh of the butternut squash, lest you have an allergy like mine. I happened to cut the top and bottom off my squash before peeling it, stabilizing the wily vegetable with my palm while laboring over the peel. If I had left the top intact, I would have been fine. But the juices that leeched out of the top of the squash and into my hand caused it to become spectacularly, uncomfortably dry. The skin on my hand commenced to flake off for 24 hours. Not pleasant. I’m good as new now, but I won’t be decapitating any butternuts again!

Leave a Reply

