Five Spice Tofu

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t usually fry foods. Yes, I pan-fry with scant oil, but I generally skip anything that suggests the use of copious amounts of oil and high heat. However, I decided that this recipe, from one of my gorgeous new cookbooks, was worth trying, and, if I do say so myself, I was right.

Ingredients: 

For the tofu:

1 package of extra firm tofu (you all know that I prefer the local MoFu brand)

2 tbsp five spice powder

6 tbpn cornstarch

red pepper flakes

oil (recipes calls for peanut, I used sunflower)

For the sauce:

4 tbsp soy sauce (or braggs)

2 tbsp rice wine vinegar

1 tsp toasted sesame oil

3/4 inch piece ginger, chopped

1 tsp sugar

Directions: 

Mix together ingredients for sauce in a bowl.

Press and drain the tofu.

When it is pretty well dried out, chop the block into cubes

Mix together the cornstarch, five spice powder, and chili flakes on a plate

roll the tofu cubes in the starch mixture, coating

heat the oil over high heat in a skillet, and when it is hot, add the tofu. (I fried my ‘fu in two batches because it was easier to keep track of turning the pieces evenly)

use tongs to turn the pieces so each side gets fried

place fried tofu on a plate covered with a paper towel. press with another paper towel to remove excess oil.

Repeat with remaining ‘fu cubes.

Dip and enjoy!

(I highly recommend the source of this recipe: Vegetarian, by Alice Hart. It’s beautiful and brimming with incredible recipes for all seasons).

Leave a Reply

