Eggplant and Quinoa Minestrone

Victory Soup!!!

I was finished writing this post last night when I accidentally deleted it. Oops. Since I’m posting it tonight, I can declare it a victory post, and a recipe for victory soup.

While I’m fairly distracted by the beautiful result of tonight’s presidential election (and senate election for MO and several other states), I think I can hammer out this recipe. It’s that easy.

Start with a nice eggplant. Dice it, toss it in 1-2 tbsp olive oil, S&P, and roast on a baking sheet at 425 until tender.

Meanwhile, saute the triumvirate in olive oil: celery, onion, and carrot, plus garlic in a stockpot over low heat.

Toss in herbs and seasonings of choice. I went with thyme and salt and pepper here, and then added fresh rosemary down the line.

Add several cups of vegetable stock to your stockpot, and bring mixture to a simmer. (Add your fresh herbs here)

Measure out 1 cup of quinoa, add it to the stockpot, and let it come to a boil and then simmer, covered, for 10 minutes.

Once quinoa is mostly cooked, add 1 large or 2 small cans of diced tomatoes, whatever cooked beans you have in your pantry, and the cooked eggplant. Bring mixture back to a simmer.

Lastly, add your greens and lemon zest. Any type of greens will work– I went with bok choy. Zest a lemon and squeeze some juice (1/2 the lemon) into the soup. Bring back to simmer.

Taste and adjust seasoning as needed. Ladle into bowls and top with cheese of choice, or enjoy plain.

Voila!

Tastes like victory to me. Delectable!

Leave a Reply

