Coconut oil makes dinner and dessert!

I finally did it. I bought coconut oil. For some reason, I hadn’t been able to bring myself to add yet another type of oil to my pantry, so I kept procrastinating– filing away those coconut oil recipes for the future. Something came over me recently, however, and I successfully purchased a jar of coconut oil from Trader Joe’s. So far, I’ve been pleased with the new addition.

First off, I was able to make these no bake date squares true to the recipe: http://ohsheglows.com/2011/03/28/5-ingredient-no-bake-vegan-date-squares/.

Delicious!! (It also helps that I didn’t try to improvise in the absence of parchment paper this time). I bought the dates in bulk at Golden Grocer (on Euclid, in the CWE). I think they’re slightly less expensive that way. Anyway, I think these date squares are genius. And all you need is 1.5 cups almonds, 1.5 cup oats, salt, 35 dates, 1/4 cup coconut oil, 1/2 cup water, and a food processor. Make these at your earliest convenience!

With dessert taken care of, time to focus on dinner. Tonight I made a simple broccoli, cabbage, and tofu stir fry with quinoa.

I started the tofu strips lightly frying in coconut oil and then let the broccoli steam and the quinoa cook while the tofu browned.

Taking a cue from my recent success with flavorful lentils, I added curry powder and tumeric to the quinoa while it cooked. It looked very pretty, and definitely added complexity to the meal.

When the tofu was finished, I removed it from the pan and sauteed some cabbage with braggs, fresh ginger, lemon juice, sesame oil, chili sauce, and cilantro.

When the broccoli was ready, I added it to the cabbage, throwing the tofu on top. A few stirs to get everyone mingling, and it was ready to be served on top of the quinoa. I had some thinly sliced carrots, extra cilantro, braggs, and chili sauce for toppings.

I consider any mildly tasty meal that didn’t originate with sauteed garlic and onions a success. On those terms, I’d score this one a definite success– just fine for a quick dinner, but not the greatest stir-fry of all time.

Leave a Reply

