Stewed Peppers and Tomatoes with Pasta

It’s not often that I feel inundated with two of my favorite foods– bell peppers and tomatoes. But thanks to Maude’s, I had a haul of each last week and thus finally had the opportunity to borrow from a stewed pepper recipe that I saved long ago. I decided to serve it over whole wheat spaghetti, topped with a barely-cooked egg and fresh basil from my shivering plant.

The runny yolk of the egg saturated the thick pepper-tomato sauce, enriching the meal in a delightful way (as an egg tends to do!)

To make the sauce:

Dice two red bell peppers and two-three garlic cloves

Saute over very low heat for 10ish minutes

Meanwhile, dice your tomatoes. The recipe calls for one 14-oz can, I used 7-8 small and medium tomatoes.

Add the diced tomatoes to the skillet with your peppers, and continue to saute.

Season with salt and pepper and thyme (1/2 tsp)

I let the mixture come to a simmer, and then kept the heat low enough for just a little bit of bubbling, but nothing close to a boil. You should cover the pan if you have a lid (I did not).

Let it simmer as long as you like. My feeling is, the longer the better. Serve over pasta with an egg, or use any other way that sounds tasty.

Leave a Reply

