Granola Bars

My second attempt at these granola bars, with a few personal touches, from Family Fresh Cooking: http://www.familyfreshcooking.com/2011/03/03/peanut-butter-pretzel-granola-bars-recipe/

This time, I used almond butter instead of peanut butter, and I added several other ingredients to the batter:

-flax seeds (approximately 1 tbsp)

-cinnamon

-carob chips (1/4 cup?)

-raisins (a handful)

After spreading the mixture in the pan, I topped it with coconut flakes.

I think they are greatly improved by these additions. FYI, the banana flavor is prominent. I think I might try to tone that down next time by using some applesauce, just for a change of flavor. I also will consider some different mix-ins and nuts/nut butters.

Leave a Reply

