Naked butternut squash burritos

Ray likes to try to order “naked burritos” at Chipotle, even though they are called “burrito bowls.”  Tonight I went ahead and indulged this erroneous epithet, and made some naked butternut squash burritos. (They were really only naked because we didn’t have any wraps…)

The recipe I used is from Oh She Glows, and it turned out really nicely. I made only a few changes, based on what ingredients I had at my disposal. This dish tastes a lot like most of my “Southwestern” creations, but around our table, that’s a good thing. Hopefully others share our taste buds.

roast a diced, oiled & seasoned butternut squash at 425 degrees until tender

meanwhile…cook brown rice (recipes calls for 1/2 cup, but make what you want)

heat oil in a skillet and saute onion & garlic (2 big gloves is what I used)

salt & pepper to taste

throw in some cumin and cayenne pepper (I did about 2 tsp cumin and a hearty dash of cayenne)

cut corn off the cob and add it to the skillet (I used 2 ears)

add some chopped fresh tomato if you have some handy (I used some aging grape tomatoes)

throw in a can’s worth of black beans (rinsed first)

by this point, your butternut squash will probably be tender…

if so, add it to the skillet with the brown rice

mix/mash it all up

decorate with your choice of toppings

we used: cilantro, avocado, sour cream and salsa

(salsa procured from Maude’s Market, nonetheless)

Decorated
Partially dressed
One thought on “Naked butternut squash burritos

Leave a Reply

