Date Squares

The past couple of weeks have kept me too busy to post, but not quite busy enough not to cook. So I have several meals to chronicle.

I’ve never been a terribly successful baker, but I can’t bring myself to buy the sugar-laden boxed granola bars, fruit squares, etc. Hence, my decision to experiment with a no-bake, no added sugar date square recipe. I tweaked the Oh She Glows recipe slightly (original version here: http://ohsheglows.com/2011/03/28/5-ingredient-no-bake-vegan-date-squares/) based on my inventory. I still haven’t bought coconut oil, so I substituted olive oil, and I didn’t have quite enough dates for the filling, so I added some dried apricots. Furthermore, I lack the type of the pan that the recipe calls for, so I used a 5×5 casserole dish. Lastly, no parchment paper to be found, so I foolishly used tin foil. I’d suggest not substituting for the parchment paper. Just don’t use anything if you don’t have it. It’s not that important, and foil only helped me make more of a mess.

Despite my minor edits, the date squares came out wonderfully. They are quite crumbly, but that doesn’t bother me too much. I’m definitely going to keep making these. And although I love dates, I’ll probably experiment with some other fillings. Dates are verging on prohibitively expensive, considering how quickly we devoured this batch!!

One thought on “Date Squares

Leave a Reply

