Beans!

On my most recent Whole Foods excursion, I stocked up on dried black beans. I soaked them on Friday and planned to cook them Saturday, but ran out of time. I’ve made the mistake of letting beans soak too long, so I prioritized them on Sunday. They actually cooked remarkably fast. Here’s what I did:

Saute 2/3 cup (?) red onion in olive oil in a large pot/dutch oven

Add garlic (I used two humongous cloves)

Add the soaked and rinsed black beans to the pot, and cover with an inch and a half or 2 inches of water (I probably had 1 1/2 lbs beans)

Salt

Turn up the heat and let the beans come to a boil

Turn down the heat, put a lid on the pot, and let the beans simmer until they are tender.

I like to add a handful of cilantro or just cilantro stems to give the beans some extra flavor. A bay leaf is always good too.

My beans cooked in less than an hour! And they are extremely tasty. I steamed some corn and ate a bowl of beans, corn, avocado, relish, sour cream, and hot sauce with a little lime juice squeezed on top. It hit the spot. (And again today, when I had it for lunch!)

Leave a Reply

