Pasta Bruschetta

Despite the fact that I have become disenchanted with the overall message of the brand, the occasional quality of the Friday recipe blast from Healthy Bitch Daily has prevented me from quitting the Bitches completely. For those of you who are unfamiliar, HBD is a brand, for lack of a better word, that was borne of a book called ‘Skinny Bitch’ (solely responsible for my fling with Veganism). ‘Skinny Bitch’ was all about why Veganism is the healthiest, most compassionate diet, and how it can be easy, fun, and empowering. Their message is rather intoxicating, I’ll admit, because who doesn’t want to be healthier, skinnier, prettier, cooler, more powerful…? The book basically continues ad nauseum with that list. So the book sold me on Veganism, which lasted all of a couple of months. But it was part of my food awakening, and certainly shaped my habits and views on my food issues. The Healthy Bitch Team then started offering a daily email blast, Healthy Bitch Daily, that dedicated each day of the week to a different topic. Hence, the Friday recipe blast

My qualms with HBD, which have developed over the past year or so, pertain to the manner in which the brand sends its message of Venganism and empowerment. I don’t like reading that all my problems can be solved by eating more kale, or that I won’t suffer from postprandial bloating if I am eating my whole grains and greens. Sorry everybody, but that’s not true. And it’s not because I”m doing something wrong. I know many young women who subscribe to an incredibly ‘healthy’ diet, whether Vegan or quasi-Vegan, who struggle with myriad pains and ailments. There’s no silver bullet, for anything, and I almost feel like it’s condescending of the HB team to pretend there is. There are really compelling reasons to care about what goes into your body– why not just stick to messages and content about that? You can’t (and hopefully don’t feel the need) to eat your way to perfection, and it’s insulting to be told that you should/can.

Anyway, Friday is recipe day, and I had a chance to look at the recipe shortly after picking up my crop share, which was loaded with heirloom cherry tomatoes. The recipe, for bruschetta salad, http://www.healthybitchdaily.com/post/vegan-bruschetta-salad, required just a couple tweaks to turn into a hearty meal for two, plus leftovers. I needed hearty because when the weather is as gorgeous as it was Friday, I tend to over do it, physically. By dinner time I had biked, run, and done yoga, and needed something filling and easy.

What you need:

tomatoes (as many as possible, I used 1 1/2 lbs or so but more would have been better)

1/2 cup fresh basil

1/2 cup diced red onion

1 garlic clove, diced

2 tbsp red wine vinegar

1/2 cup olive oil (I used a tad less)

salt and pepper

1 can cannellini beans, rinsed

whole wheat pasta, shape of your choice (I used penne)

kalamata olives

balsamic vinegar, to taste

The method:

Boil salted water for pasta.

Meanwhile, chop onion and garlic, put in  a large bowl.

Depending on the type of tomatoes you are using, dice or slice in half, or add whole (if they are tiny) to the bowl with the onions.

Rip/chop your fresh basil and add it to the bowl.

Add the cannellini beans to the bowl ( I add cannellini beans to every pasta dish I make. Beans=protein, fiber, etc)

Pour over the oil and vinegar, season with salt and pepper.

Over a small flame, heat the contents of the bowl in a skillet.

When pasta is almost ready, drain and pour into skillet.

Let the pasta “marry” the tomatoes in the skillet.

Throw in kalamata olives in whatever quantity your heart desires (being a Wagman, mine always desires lots)

Plate.

Drizzle balsamic over each serving, add salt and pepper to taste.

Feast.

Leave a Reply

