Curry!

Monday night: I’d finally looked past the cans of coconut milk on the shelf of my pantry one time too many. It was curry time. I don’t know that my curry is very conventional, but it’s hearty and tasty, and that’s good enough for me.

I started by sauteing diced onion in the creamy top layer of the coconut milk (light coconut milk from TJ’s). Then I added garlic, cumin,¬†coriander, garam masala, red curry powder, and red pepper flakes. While that was sizzling, I started steaming some diced sweet potato in a separate pot. Then I poured in about half of the can of coconut milk and stirred everything around.

Then I basically added whatever vegetables I had in the fridge. On Monday that was zucchini and red pepper, and some edamame from the freezer. I also had some brown rice ready to add once the vegetables were almost cooked. When the sweet potato was beginning to soften, I transferred it to the pan with the curry and let it soak up the flavors Since nothing is complete without braggs, I poured in a small amount (its a good salt substitute) and a bit of rice vinegar. Before I turned off the flame, I added a big handful of fresh cilantro and squeezed a half lemon over the mixture, and tossed in the rice.

This is what it looked like right before I served it. It was pretty good and there were enough leftovers for two lunches! The only thing I’d do differently next time is add some Mofu, but of course, I didn’t have any on Monday. The great news is that Maude’s will be carrying Mofu this week, so we’ll be back in ‘fu. Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

