Southwestern stir-fry

I mentioned in a previous post that one of the Maude’s products I’ve fallen in love with is MoFu Tofu. MoFu makes extraordinary tofu. In fact, I didn’t really like tofu before I received a packaged of the extra-firm in my crop share. Their soybeans, (organic/non-GMO and local when possible) are processed in the City of St. Louis. My vegaquarian friends and I have often discussed the research on soy products and links to certain cancers and other adverse health outcomes, and more and more, it seems like many of those effects are linked to processing and commercial growing, rather than being intrinsic to the soy. So I’m thrilled to have been introduced to MoFu, because I feel good about what’s in it and how it’s produced.

Sadly, I haven’t had any MoFu in months. The company took a hiatus from production this summer. Thankfully, I was warned of this approaching Mofu drought in early spring, and Maude arranged for me to buy a case (12 packages) of MoFu, which I took home, pressed, and froze. Further evidence it’s deliciousness–we’ve been mofu-less for months. The dozen ‘fus only lasted 6 or 7 weeks. (According to their website, they’ve re-started production. Phew!)

The reason I’m writing about this is, my lack of ‘fu (because I couldn’t bear to go back to eating the stuff you can buy at regular stores) has forced me to incorporate other hearty vegetables and legumes into my dinner rotation. Hence, the southwestern stir-fry. This has become somewhat of a staple. It’s incredibly filling, tasty, and nutritious.

You can get as creative with the ingredient list as you like. I usually build my stir-fry off of a few staple items: sweet potato, black beans, corn, squash, onions, garlic and cilantro. From there, I do whatever green vegetable I have around. Last night, that was frozen edamame. I also threw in some cubanelle peppers (from Maude’s) and half of a large tomato. I made some brown rice a couple of days ago, so I dumped some of that in the pan too.

The “sauce” is also flexible. I love chipotle vinaigrette, especially on this stir-fry, so that’s what I did last night. I’m too lazy to make the vinaigrette separate from the rest of the dish, so I threw things in as I went along. I used:

olive oil

rice vinegar

adobo sauce (from a can of chipotles in adobo)

cilantro

lime juice

braggs aminos

sriracha

I started by peeling and dicing a large sweet potato. I threw that in a steamer and let it soften up while I sauteed onion and garlic in olive oil in my big paella pan. I added some cumin and chili powder and then the sliced squash. I had zephyr squash from Maude’s, which was new for me. Zephyrs are a summer squash that look like a hybrid between yellow squash and zucchini, only skinny. Then I spooned in some adobo sauce. A few minutes later, I added sliced cubanelle peppers and the sweet potato, which had softened up. I put an ear of corn into the steamer that had been vacated by the potato and let that steam up while I added some liquids. I poured in some rice vinegar, braggs aminos, and fresh squeeze lime juice.

This is the point where I usually add a handful of chopped fresh cilantro. However, I completely forgot to buy cilantro this week, and my cilantro plant is anemic and diminutive, so I just had to make do with a few sprigs. Oh well. Next I squirted sriracha into the pan, ground some black pepper over it, and gave everything a good stir.

Next came the frozen edamame, canned black beans, and diced tomato. Then I cut the kernels off the steamed corn, put those in with the mix, and added rice. Gave it a spin in the pan and pronounced it ready.

My pronouncement was slightly premature, though, because my tomatoes hadn’t gotten soft enough. So I let things cook a little longer. So make sure to test each vegetable to make sure it’s cooked to your liking before you plate. An extra dash of braggs for Ray, an extra squirt of sriracha for me, and it was dinner time.

Leave a Reply

