Simple, protein-packed salad

I threw together this salad in a huge hurry after my run today. I was so hungry that my sole objective was to get a protein-rich meal down the chute as fast as possible. That being said, it was delicious! I know that not everyone loves sardines, but they add so much to this combination. Still, the salad would probably be tasty sans sardines, and perhaps with a sliced hard boiled egg instead. (Or both– I personally love the addition of an egg, I just didn’t want to take 5 minutes to boil one today!)

Here’s what you need for the salad:

Arugula or mixed greens

Kidney beans or other cold beans of your choice

Artichoke hearts

Raw pepitas

Canned sardines packed in olive oil (you could use the spring water variety too)

And the dressing:

Olive oil

Balsamic vinegar

Dijon

I am going to have to get better at measuring amounts for the recipes I post here. I whipped up just a tiny amount of dressing because the sardines contributed some oil. I’d say 2 tsp olive oil (I actually used one tsp olive oil + one tsp of hazelnut oil because I have it and it’s lovely), 1 tsp balsamic, and 1/4 tsp dijon. It never hurts to squeeze a lemon over the dressing or the salad either, but I didn’t have one today.

Just combine everything in a bowl, dress, and serve. If you use canned beans, be sure to rinse them off in a colander before tossing them in the bowl.

Leave a Reply

