Basil hummus

I make this hummus weekly. I like it better than most store bought options, and I have a basil plant that I almost can’t keep up with, so I have to use it in everything! (Poor me).

The recipe is really simple:

   1 or 2 cans garbanzo beans/chickpeas, rinsed

   juice of 1/2 a small lemon (or more, if you like citrus)

 olive oil or other vegetable oil of your choice

 1 or 2 garlic cloves, peeled

salt and pepper to taste

fresh basil leaves (as much as you want– I suggest lots!)

Pour the rinsed beans and garlic cloves into a food processor. Put the lid on, start the engine, and slowly add some oil.

I usually run the food processor for a few seconds and then take the lid off to add the basil and the lemon juice, salt, and pepper. Then I add the lid, start the motor, and add oil until the consistency suits my fancy. Sometimes I make it drier and chunkier, other times smoother and oilier. It’s good no matter what.

I eat hummus on rice cakes with sliced cucumber almost every day for a snack at work. I also eat hummus with raw vegetables and on bread when I make sandwiches. It’s pretty versatile.

Leave a Reply

